After experiencing an accident in Texas and getting appropriate medical care, most accident victims start thinking about when they will get a settlement for their damaged vehicle and injuries. The time it takes to settle a motor vehicle accident varies on several factors, including the accident circumstances, state laws and severity of injuries. Victims often receive multiple payouts on their claims.
General timeline for insurance claims
Following motor vehicle accidents, insurance companies generally have 30 days to investigate a claim. Texas law requires insurance companies to settle claims within 35 days after one is filed. There are also specific time frames to acknowledge the claim and whether to accept it before paying.
However, some claims can take longer to process and settle, particularly if the accident is complex or severe injuries result. Poor communication between the driver, the insurance company and the claims adjuster can also affect receiving a payout. If delays occur, your insurance company must also tell you the reason for the delay.
For accidents with multiple severe injuries requiring extensive medical treatment followed by rehabilitation, an insurance settlement may not be enough. In instances where such expenses run into the hundreds of thousands or even millions of dollars, victims can file a legal claim in court to receive compensation for injuries.
Relieving stress after accident injuries
Those impacted by motor vehicle accidents have a lot to consider following the mishap. Sometimes, insurance companies will try to lowball settlements, claiming that you were partially at fault for the accident. Another common tactic is getting victims to settle early. However, some injuries don’t manifest themselves until months after the incident. The financial consequences also aren’t readily apparent in the weeks immediately after the accident. It’s important to take the time to evaluate any settlement offer to ensure it is fair.
If you determine that you need to file a claim in court to cover your expenses, you must file that claim within the Texas statute of limitations, which is two years from the date of the accident. Victims can use money from successful claims to pay for living expenses, lost wages and more in addition to medical treatments.